It is believed that a young person should take a gap year between school and university. What would be the advantages and disadvantages from this?

So important is the phenomenon of a gap year between school and university that youngsters should take. There are several advantages and disadvantages from this very topical trend, which I will elaborate more below.

Regarding the benefits, first, it might be said that students will learn independence and assertiveness in areas such as time management and interpersonal skills. It might be said that these skills will lead to greater career success later in life, thus canceling out the costs involved. Last, there are many examples of young people using gap years to achieve something significant, whether in voluntary work or in a sector of business that interests them.

Conversely, we should not ignore the various drawbacks this phenomenon may bring about. Firstly, the gap year will impact the costs involved in areas such as air fares, accommodation, and living expenses. All this money has to come from the student’s family or even from borrowing to be paid later. It might also be said that gap years take a young person’s focus away from studying and allow them to get involved in distractions such as traveling. This can make it hard to adjust to university life, damaging the student’s performance. Finally, it appears that there is a concern over the safety of young people if they are traveling to remote places. Being kidnapped or mugged is a poor start to an academic career, after all.

In conclusion, the gap year could lead to positives in that students would be able to gain new skills and experiences about work. Meanwhile, activities during the gap year can divert youngster’s attention from their academic focus and cost in many areas could be a substantial drawback that should not be forgotten as well.