It is believed that individuals who engage in reading books can cultivate greater imagination and linguistic abilities than those who prefer television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, a school of thought holds that readers can imagine better and have greater language skills than those who opt to watch television. I completely agree with this notion for the reasons outlined below.

It is understandable why some people think that reading books can improve them greater imagination and abilities of language than watching TV. Chief of these is that when they read books, they can imagine the actions, and characteristics of almost all characters in those books in their own ways, which the available images that are shown on TV may fail to manage. This is particularly helpful in developing one’s imagination, especially for children. A recent study has shown that adolescents in America who love reading fairy tales will have a better imagination than their peers watching TV, resulting in better academic performances and better careers in their later lives. This is a testament to how reading books exerts a positive influence on cultivating children’s imagination.

In addition to this, reading can help enhance a reader’s linguistic skills in a way that watching television seems impossible to manage. This is because when reading books, individuals can pay attention to the words the authors deploy, and learn them by heart or try to use them in their daily lives. Meanwhile, if they watch television, they may only concentrate on the content of the movie they see, or the appearance of the actors, and they would not focus on the conversations of actors, which helps them nothing in improving citizens’ language abilities.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that reading books would help people enrich their imagination and language abilities better than those who choose to watch television.