It is believed that individuals who engage in reading books can cultivate greater imagination and linguistic abilities than those who prefer television. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Reading culture is always encouraged in developed countries such as China, Japan. Some assert that reading books help individuals have better imagination and linguistic proficiency than watching television. In my point of view, I wholeheartedly agree with this notion due to its mental images and improving language skills.

It is understandable as to why some people subscribe the view that reading improves imagination and language skills. The primary reason is that books have no image, which requires readers to imagine while absorbing stories. Readers have to create mental images of characters’ appearance, settings and events described in the books. From that, individuals who immerge themselves in reading are stimulated creative power. For example, Harry Potter is a fantasy novel. People reading this book need to use their available imagination to build up a unreal magical world. Meanwhile, TV programs provide viewers with lively movement of pictures, which restricts the ability of imaginative faculty.

Another point is that people enhance their language proficiency throughout reading. This is because reading allows readers to see how different grammar structures are used in describing stories, which can improves their own grammar usage. Moreover, by reading, people encounter some new words and their meanings in context. This can not be taken if people what television because TV language is informal and structures on television are sometimes incorrect.

To sum up, I strongly agree with the view that reading book obviously gains more benefits in upgrading visualization and linguistic skills than watching TV programs Because of its lacking of illustrations and enhancing language proficiency. However, readers should choose suitable book types to take best advantage of reading.