It is believed that the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) are becoming more and more popular among high school and university students. What might be the reasons for this?

Nowadays more and more people are choosing to study STEM disciplines in school and university. This may be caused by several reasons. This essay will provide arguments on why science, technology, engineering, and mathematics are gaining popularity.

Firstly, many jobs with high salaries seek people, who have studied these disciplines. Young people dream becoming rich, so they focus on STEM subjects, as they are promising them to become sucessfull. For example, the sphere of IT is one of the most well-paid and requires to work with numbers and technology.

Secondly, these disciplines are harder to get replaced by artificial intelligence. In the modern world it is often believed, that because of AI many workers that specialise in languages can loose their job as AI is capable of performing the same tasks. However those, who work in science, technology, engineering or mathematics spheres are harder to replace as their work involves more experiments, which the artificial intelligence will not be able to do on it’s own. Moreover, workers of these fields are the ones that created AI in the first place.

Lastly, in our era of technology STEM disciplines are needed practically everywhere. There are more job offers for those, who have studied these subjects and a higher chance to get implied. Between a candidate that has studied STEM disciplines and one that did not, the first one is more likely to be choosen for the position.

Overall, such reasons as a higher chance of getting a job and higher sallary, the lack of fear of being replaced by AI are contributing to the popularity of STEM disciplines among high school and university students.