It is believed that the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) are becoming more and more popular among high school and university students. What might be the reasons for this?

Nowadays STEM disciplines have become more attractive for school graduates and university students. Interest in non-humanitarian subjects increased throughout the years as technology development progressed. In my opinion, there are 3 main reasons of growing popularity.

Firstly, Artificial Intelligence and Internet have become the tools that everyone uses in their daily life. A lot of shops, online and offline ones, publish their brand apps where they provide special offers or discounts for customers. Another benefit of using modern technologies is person’s ability to effortlessly organize their routine. For example, individual, paying attention to the condition of their health, may plan a diet or monthly trainings. Some young people become more curious about the way the sphere works inside.

Secondly, gaining the knowledge in STEM disciplines could broaden career opportunities after graduation. For instance, one may work as software developer, UI or UX designer. Business requires high-qualificated specialists because of progressing computerization, so not only programmers but engineers too are needed. Thus, these jobs are likely to continue keeping top positions on the job market, promising well-paid salary. In addition, those choosing IT-related career have an option to do their work remotely and live at any place in the world.

Lastly, being smart is often praised in the social media. It is commonly known that teenagers and youngsters spend a huge amount of time online, so the content they watch has a great impact on them, influencing even their career decisions. As they see that many people share the aesthetics of them studying science or math, the image of technical subjects becomes more attractive.

To conclude, the growth of popularity of STEM disciplines is nothing but the result of adaption to a new high-tech world built by humankind.