It is believed that the STEM disciplines (science, technology, engineering, and mathematics) are becoming more and more popular among high school and university students. What might be the reasons for this?

It is commonly argued that subjects such science, technology, engineering, and mathematics are very popular now among students from high school and university. This essay will discuss some reasons which are causing this tension.

As for the first cause, a lot of young people find these disciplines very promising for their future. A significant factor to note is that people are creating a great deal of technologies nowadays. Moreover, a person should have a deep knowledge in applied sciences, such as mathematics or engineering, because it is fundamental for creating something reliable. These factors give an opportunity to earn a lot of money because of a high level of hardness. To exemplify this, more and more technologies are created by using Artificial Intelligence now, and many students from HSE choose a Faculty of Computer Science to get a degree for working in a prestigious place.

As for the second reason, it is much easier to get a humanitarian education and it causes a hard competition in finding a well-paid job. People live in the Internet century and everybody may find a lot of information about humanitarian subjects. Therefore, employers do not have any problems with employees in these spheres. As a result, students suppose that it will be more practical to get a degree in something which will be more applied. For instance, a lot of bloggers sell their courses about art, SMM, marketing, design, etc.

In conclusion, more and more students in high school and university prefer to choose STEM subjects because it is more prospective and practical for their future.