It is common for young people to study abroad to study at a university instead of studying in their home country. Do the advantages of studying at a university in another country outweigh the disadvantages?

Studying abroad has become increasingly popular over past few decades. Although living in another country may be emotionally heavy due to separation from loved ones at an early age, I believe that the benefits, particularly wide range of career opportunities and self-improvement, are superior to drawbacks.

One significant advantage of studying in another country is that it prevails on students to be self-sufficient and mature. They have to learn how to stand on their own feet, solving their problems without depending on their parents. Facing difficulties alone makes one more resilient and steady. An exchange student who moves to another country has to deal with accommodation, cooking, cleaning, and all these strengthen their problem-solving capabilities.

Another considerable benefit is the opportunity to establish international networks and chance of developing professionally in one’s field, which can open doors to future career plans. Ones who study overseas usually nurture friendships with people from various countries that can assist them in international workplaces.

Of course, studying in a different country not only has advantages but also disadvantages, such as being homesick and missing family members. Moving to a totally unfamiliar place may make teenagers feel alone and depressed for a while due to the effect of cultural shock. However, when these temporary difficulties are outweighed by permanent benefits, they see that it’s completely worth it.

Consequently, personal growth people gain overcoming these difficulties is more valuable than short-term discomfort they feel.