It is generally believed that some people are born with certain talents, for instance for music and sports and others are not. However, it is sometimes claimed that any child can be taught to become a good sports person or musician. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The common consensus in society is that different people are born with different talents. This can be observed in fields like sports, musics, or academics. In contrast, there has been oppositions to this, claiming that these talents are not inherently innate – they can be learned and taught. Although both views are polar opposites, I firmly believe that to be able to maximize themselves, one must have a balance of both talent and hardwork.

Some might argue that most of the time, people born with talents usually exhibit interest of the particular field at a very young age, making them easy to be shaped to be among the best in that field. Furthermore, these people also usually show minimal effort in achieving their goals, leading to the narrative that they are just born with the talents. However, the reason they are so good often comes not only from talent, but also the requirement for time and effort being spent on developing the necessary skills. A pianist needs to practice a lot, while a sports person needs to be put under pressure when training. All of these contribute equally to the person in developing their talents. Moreover, the belief that talented individuals don’t require hardwork can be detrimental to the person, as one would be stagnant, unable to improve.

On the other hand, it is not unreasonable to think that anyone can be taught to become a musician or an academic weapon. Many people have reasons and motivations to learn certain skills, such as playing an instrument or studying a field of science. In addition, internal pressure such as not wanting to be overtaken by other people and external ones like expectations from others, for example, can be the driving force to the person’s achievement. Nevertheless, the prerequisite for someone to be able to move forward is none other than innate talent. Without them, it would be extremely hard to make any progress, which can lead to stagnancy. This would not happen had the person was born with the talents necessary to help them improve. There needs to be a balance of both.

In summary, to be able to be the best of themselves, one must possess both acquired talents and determination to pursue it. Without both, one will crumble either by the sheer pressure, or by being overly self-confident.