It is important for a government to spend money on vocational training and practical programs (e.g. fixing cars, hairdressing) than on education in universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In today’s world, there is an ongoing debate about whether national expenditure should be used for skills and vocational training for practical occupations, rather than university education. From my perspective, I support the idea that university education should be properly funded; however, the significant contribution of hands-on training programs to national development should not be overlooked.

First and foremost, the government’s allocation of public funds to vocational training programs can directly address the urgent demand of the labor market. Some specialized sectors such as construction, electrical and mechanical engineering are experiencing a shortage of highly skilled workers, while the number of university graduates is becoming increasingly excessive. If nations prioritize investment in an expansion of hands-on training programs, workers are more likely to enter the workforce quickly and contribute to the national productivity. This, consequently, can both reduce unemployment rates and stimulate national economic growth.

Nevertheless, higher education still plays a crucial role in fostering intellectual development, creativity, and innovation in the long term. Many fields, such as medicine, technology, and science, require advanced theoretical knowledge and professional expertise that skill-based training programs may find challenging to replace. If countries significantly reduce funding for universities, they may, in turn, be confronted with a shortage of experts who are able to conduct research and develop long-term solutions to contemporary societal challenges.

All things considered, I believe that a nation’s university education system deserves sustained governmental investment, although the importance of practice-oriented training programs should not be underestimated. More importantly, rather than ultimately prioritizing one sector at the expense of the other, governments should maintain a balanced allocation of resources between vocational training programs and universities, as both play indispensable roles in national development.