It is important for a government to spend money on vocational training and practical programs (e.g. fixing cars, hairdressing) than on education in universities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While it is frequently contended that the government should allocate more funding for practical work such as skills and vocational training, I maintain that this is a false dilemma. In my opinion, higher education plays a more important role in long – term national development.

On the one hand, vocational training offers several benefits to both individuals and society. By focusing on practical skills, workers become job-ready after experienced programs, training or courses. This significantly reduces unemployment rates, especially for young people who may not follow higher education. Moreover, some industries such as construction and manufacturing are currently facing a shortage of skilled workers, which vocational training can effectively solve problem-solving methods.

On the other hand, university education plays a far more significant role in long-term national development. By learning higher education, people can access more knowledge and develop critical thinking with innovation. Additionally, almost all industries have some important positions such as directors, engineers, doctors,… required high-skilled professionals that can not be replaced by short-term courses. Furthermore, universities contribute to technological advancement and economic growth by producing a highly educated workforce. Without sufficient investment in higher education, a country may struggle to compete in the global market for multiple fields.

In conclusion, while skills and vocational training offers practical benefits and can deal with immediate workforce shortages, I believe that university education is more essential for long-term national development due to its role in innovation and high-level skills, knowledge.