It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Some people believe that teaching children how to differentiate between acceptable and unacceptable behaviour from an early age, and using appropriate punishments as part of the teaching process, are crucial. I totally agree with this viewpoint and will discuss some types of punishment that adults can use to encourage good manners.

As children grow up, it is crucial for them to learn how to distinguish between right and wrong. This distinction plays a key role in enabling individuals to find their rightful place in the community and to lead a principled and meaningful life. For example, a person who has learned how to behave is more likely to act ethically in the workplace, such as refusing to participate in unfair situations. By consistently making right decisions, they gain the trust of colleagues and superiors, which not only advances their career but also contributes positively to society. In contrast, young people who have not been educated properly tend to misbehave among public and become adults of little importance in society.

I support education without punishment, but sometimes it becomes necessary to discipline particularly disobedient children. When it comes to punish while teaching the difference between good and bad behaviour, parents and teachers can use some punishments such as giving extra tasks or chores, taking away privileges, making the child repair or replace something broken. These types are educational and gentle in nature which do not adversely affect the child’s psychological development. However, severe punishments, such as corporal, verbal, or excessive isolation should be strictly avoided to prevent damaging the child’s emotional development. In many cases, such measures have the opposite effect on children and may result in faulty or inadequate upbringing.

In conclusion, from early age, children should receive proper education, with appropriate corrective measures if needed.