‘It is important for foreigners to know something about the history and culture of the country they live in.’ Discuss. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Now a days, it is expected of the immigrants to have thorough knowledge of the history, and culture of the immigrating country. There are two main reasons in support of this notion which includes emotionally feeling connected to place of residence, and being aware of the current, and past geo-political issues of the nation.

The primary reason being advocated in favour of the above statement is that feeling of belonging develops when individuals take interest in the background of their new homeland. They try to fit in to the culture in this manner, and this aids in developing patriotism. In addition, knowing the unique features of that society helps you feel connected ,at ease, knows what’s expected of the individual saving him/her from cultural shock. For instance, in Japan it is customary to bow down in respect of others which is not expected in other regions of the world. Learning the native language benefits in making daily purchases at markets and for mingling in offices. Furthermore, some individuals finds it adventurous and thrilling to explore their new vicinity, and may find exotic, beautiful, and unique views to share with their colleagues and family further simplifying their transition and adjustment.

On the other hand, re-locating to a new country is already stressful, which builds on the burden of learning about the heritage of that area, resulting in mental frustration, and anxiety of new immigrants. In addition, new responsibilities are added for self sustaining, which were previously shared by members of the family. Finding a suitable house, securing a job and completing daily chores, are some of the causes behind depression of emigrants evicting their hometown.

In conclusion, having adequate background and knowledge of heritage, and language of the new land of citizenship may come advantageous but is too cumbersome and debilitating for a newcomer far away from his comfort zone and loved ones.