some peole think that it should be compulsory to retake their driving test every five years.

Driving is a skill that most people use daily, yet once a driver has passed their test, they are never formally assessed again. Some argue that making a retest compulsory every five years would enhance road safety by ensuring they are up to date with rules and physically fit to drive. However, others believe this would be costly, and unnecessarily stressful for competent drivers.

On the one hand, some believe that re-examination of tests can lead to valid concerns, such as long waiting lists. As many people, nowadays, practise driving in special programme buildings, retaking can take weeks or months to take. Individuals who are already familiar with new rules and who are careful on the road, can see this situation as a waste of time and lead to nerves. High costs are another disadvantage. Not only do individuals face significant expenses, but the government’s financial stability is also affected. Each retake consists of test fees, lesson refresher, and time off work. This situation can make testing centers overwhelmed and raise public spending.

However, retaking an exam once every five years can help to make sure that everyone is familiar with up-dated safety rules. As many governments are commanding new legislation and limitations, not knowing new rules on the road can cause severe damages, including penalties, license revocations, and so on. Moreover, as many individuals own cars, whether they are young or old, sometimes they encounter some troubles. Take the older generations as an example, as they grew older their abilities to drive vehicles started to weaken. A compulsory retest every five years would allow examiners to test their abilities, thereby they could identify unsafe drivers before they cause an accident.

In conclusion, retaking a driving licence test should be compulsory for people, as it can ensure that drivers are aware of new legislations and able to drive. However, there are also some drawbacks, such as huge cost and getting crowded at testing centers.