It is important for schoolchildren to learn local history rather than world history. What exend to do agree or disagree?

World history is less significant for learning purposes among school-going children for several reasons. In my perspective, students’ knowledge of local history enables them to preserve their traditions and equips them to adopt good cultural habits. Whereas, learning world history is of less significant value because of the vast information that is difficult to digest among children.

Knowledge of world history cannot help students to cope with their present living environment. Moreover, it is a vast subject that requires strong interest to learn. As a result, the world history is not a relevant subject for the majority of the children to learn when compared with the history of a local area. To exemplify, for a student from a tribal community, understanding the history of World War 1 is less important than adapting their local traditions.

When children indulge in learning the local history, they get to know more about their ancestors’ several traditional activities. Consequently, it creates enthusiasm among children to know more about it. For instance, local people used to engage in several traditional activities such as participating in mural arts, which has less significance in today’s art world. Furthermore, local history shapes a personality among children through different ways. That is to say, they learn health habits which involve respecting their elders.

In short, students should focus more on learning the importance of local history as the history of the world cannot shape their personality. Last but not least, histories of their native place play a significant role in preserving the traditions of the ancestors.