It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should focus on people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since supporting individuals worldwide is unrealistic, governments should prioritize aiding their own citizens. However, moral obligations would not allow us not to invest in helping those who are in need. Also, I believe that in times of global crises, countries with stable economies should allocate resources for others by coming together since a problem in one region can affect everyone.

There is no dispute that governments should assist their citizens primarily. Every country has domestic issues that will not be solved if governments did not have limits on allocating budgets to other countries, because financial resources are not unlimited. The other problem worth mentioning is that focusing on providing aid for other countries could reduce the quality of country’s public services due to budget constraints, which can cause an increase in taxes.

However, I believe that governments should help other countries because every person has human rights to live in a peaceful place and have freedom. Also, since it is true that only one country can not effectively help to another one during the crises, countries created international community for assisting others. For instance, the UN organisation helped millions of people in poor countries by providing them with vaccines against COVID-19 between 2020 and 2022. Another reason why governments should provide assistance is that some disasters in another country could cause problems in their own. A great example for this would be the Aral sea which was almost completely dried out. This caused a bad climate changes (very hot summers and cold winters with little little snow) in practically all countries of Middle Asia; therefore, the UN tries its best to help recover the sea.

Providing aid from one country to another without setting a limit of budget may cause economic problems so countries created international communities that unite them.