It is impossible to help all people in the world, so governments should focus on people in their own countries. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Since it is challenging to support everyone in need worldwide, some argue that governments should prioritize their own citizens. While some believe that providing assistance to everyone is essential in certain situations, I strongly believe that governments should focus on aiding their own country.

Helping all countries might be instrumental for humanity’s cooperation against world issues like terrorism, pandemics, etc. There are a lot of problems around the world that need global joint action. For example, in 2020 there was a pandemic because of Covid-19, and around 700 million people got this virus. The situation could have gone even worse if humanity had not combined efforts against it. Furthermore, providing aid and support globally can boost country’s reputation on the world stage. Acts of humanitarian aid or development assistance build a positive international reputation, strengthening diplomatic ties and creating opportunities for economic and cultural exchanges.

I believe that governments should put their own citizens’ needs first, regardless of the potential benefits of aiding everyone. Those in positions of authority have social and moral obligations to their constituents. Since taxpayers fund the system, it is the responsibility of the government to protect their welfare, security, and standard of living. Putting the needs of the people first promotes national cohesion and increases public confidence in the administration. Furthermore, efficient use of few resources necessitates tackling urgent domestic problems, including unemployment, poverty, and healthcare. For instance, long-term economic growth and national development result from investments in infrastructure and education within a nation.

In conclusion, although providing aid to all people around the world can have some benefits, I am of the opinion that the government should prioritize their nation first.