It is invetable that cultures will be lost technology develops. Technology and traditional culture are incompatible . To what extent are you agree or disagree with this view

In modern times, some people believe that the advancements of technology lead to the disappearance of traditional cultures. From my point of view, I only partly agree with this statement because, in some cases, technology has the ability to promote and preserve the tradition.

To begin with, it is understandable that the continuous development of technology poses certain threats to the conservation of cultures. One clear threat is that the technology accelerates quickly, involving the spread of the internet; therefore, citizens are capable of accessing easily other traditions and world trends. As a result, some people just follow the foreign trends and cultures, leading to forgetting the value of their country’s customs. For example, the young Vietnamese people, Chu Nguyen Quang Vinh, when accessing foreign traditions via the internet or social media, just want to study abroad and deny all the cultures in Viet Nam. Moreover, another threat is that technological development leads to the rise in popularity of computers and smartphones, which consist of a wide range of entertainment for users. Therefore, instead of engaging in some traditional games such as tug of war and rope skipping, people tend to stay at home and play games or watch TV to entertain. Consequently, if this situation prolongs, people’s concerns about the protection of their national cultural identity will be less important than what movie they watch today or their favorite game characters.

Nevertheless, it is important to recognize that the advancement of technology also brings notable benefits to the preservation and promotion of traditional culture. In terms of protecting the heritage, technological development can assist the government to recreate or repair heavily damaged ethnic heritage. For example, some scientists in Viet Nam can restore One Pilar Pagoda by renewable technology, so the young generation can see the true beauty of traditional buildings and ancient life. Furthermore, the widespread Internet is capable of sharing and promoting our cultures. For example, through the development of social media like TikTok and Facebook, people are able to learn easily about customs in their country as well as create a blog or video about the past to share some stories about the originals of their traditions. Not only does it help the young people to be more interested in national cultures, but it also has the ability to raise citizens’s awareness of protecting the cultural identity of their nation.

In conclusion, I maintain the idea that the advancement of technology brings both challenges and benefits to cultural preservation and promotion.