Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, public health, which is one of the most notable issues in society, is concerning residents a lot. Thus, numerous hospitals and medical services have been established to meet the health needs of societies. In light of this, a school of thought holds that medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. While private healthcare companies have certain advantages, I would believe that they are eclipsed by their more significant drawbacks.

On the one hand, private healthcare companies are undoubtedly advantageous to a certain extent. One significant benefit is the innovation in terms of technology and services. Private companies offer better treatments and more advanced technologies for their patients. This attracts residents a lot, which seems to be better than public companies. For example, when a person attends a private healthcare company, he or she may not have to wait for a long time for his or her turn to be called, which is opposite to the situation when that person goes to a public hospital. He or she may have to wait a really long time for his or her turn because of the low working speed. Another noteworthy advantage is private health care may reduce the strain on public clinics. Private services often provide conditions at a higher level, which usually attracts wealthy people to apply and helps these companies gain more profits. This will create opportunities for the government to focus on providing better healthcare services and facilities for public hospitals to support poupers. Therefore, it is reasonable that private providers play crucial roles in society, helping enhance the quality of healthcare services.

On the other hand, I am convinced that these aforementioned merits are at the expense of more serious demerits. One of these minus points is that medical services and surgeries in private hospitals are really expensive, even medicine. This is understandably suitable for certain groups and inaccidently generates limited access with poor patients. Accordingly, a two-tier system has been triggled, worsening the inequality in society. For instance, affluent people can easily access more advanced healthcare services. Meanwhile, because of the expense of these services, disadvantaged groups can only apply lower quality services, which hinders them from approaching better medical conditions. Another possible drawback is that private providers sometimes prioritise profits over public health. They usually makes patients to do unnecessary tests or buy extra medicines with inflated costs. This contributes to maximise significant profits for these private companies. Given the devastating effects that private healthcare companies might exert on the healthcare industry, they could ultimately do more harm than good.

In conclusion, despite certain benefits that private healthcare companies offer, I would contend that these are outweighed by their drawbacks.