Some people think that good health is very important to every person, so medical services should not be run by profit-making companies. Do the advantages of private health care outweigh the disadvantages?

Some individuals hold the view that profit-making companies should not manage the medical service due to having good health is a basic need of humans. Despite some obvious disadvantages, I would agree that they are outweighed by the advantages.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that private healthcare plays a key role in the medical system and individuals’ lives. Non-public healthcare services alleviate the overwhelming problems of a country’s medical system. If there is not the survival of these systems, patients would have more time consuming in queuing and making appointments with the doctor. Moreover, it allows people to access better experiences, which is suitable for their personal needs. For example, public healthcare usually has basic equipment that only meets standard demands. Therefore, people tend to go to some private medical care to enjoy better services.

On the other hand, it also has many obvious drawbacks. First, it has a pressure on medical costs. At some private healthcare companies that offer private healthcare services, private health insurance doesn’t cover 100% of the cost; therefore, patients could pay about 20-30% of service cost. Moreover, when they enroll in a health insurance program that fails to fit their needs, they might pay a high cost or waste money without using the service. Additionally, the non-government health sector might generate an unethical system, having the discrimination between the rich and poor. For instance, privately-fun medical care usually prioritizes individuals who have a good social position or financial background. As a result, the poor and others who have higher demands to access healthcare services could not enjoy their benefits.

In conclusion, although private healthcare yields a wider array of advantages, I still believe that some demerits of this issue are outweighed the advantages such as expensive spending and class discrimination.