It is necessary for parents to attend a parenting training course to bring their children up. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Parenting proves challenging to most people. In this respect, it is argued that parents should be required to complete a training program on how to raise their children. In my mind, having parents take a program on parenting is critical though it can sometimes be substituted with other means.

To start, it is worth considering why a parenting training course may not be entirely necessary. Most parents rely on the help of their relatives such as their own parents, aunts and uncles to raise their children. This is common practice in many parts of the world, where elderly relatives share their experience with young couples on raising a child properly. More than just helping bring up children, grandparents at times act as babysitters, especially in dual-income families where both parents work. Furthermore, easy access to online information on matters of parenting means that a dedicated training program may be a waste of resources. This is because parents can simply search for information online on any topic, ranging from diet to education, to aid their role as parents. Therefore, parents can do without training on parenting in some contexts.

Despite these alternatives, I am of the opinion that parents should receive formal education on parenting matters. The principal reason here is the idea that most young couples lack experience in how to raise children. While this may not be applicable to parents with many children, parents in one-child families often struggle to cater to their child’s needs since they are entirely new to this process. Therefore, having a structured training program to follow is a relief to most young parents. Such a training course is also critical to the success of children seeing as their parents affect their development in various ways. More specifically, day-to-day decisions parents make on their children’s diet, education, as well as the environment they grow in, are all important factors in the well-rounded development of their offspring. The success of our children is ultimately essential to the prosperity of our nation as a whole.

The bottom line is most parents need training on how to raise their children if they are to see their children succeed and receive proper nurturing.