It is not necessary to travel to other places to learn the culture of other people. We can learn just as much from books, films and the internet. Do you agree or disagree?

Learning about other cultures is becoming easier and more convenient by utilizing available resources such as books, films, and the internet; however, the accuracy of this knowledge can be mitigated due to the anachronism of them. Therefore, I believe that travelling to other countries is vital for gaining a comprehensive understanding of diverse cultures.

Initially, travelling to other places not only enable individuals to form connections to people from other cultures but also provide them with authentic and practical experience, which cannot gain from available documentaries. In detail, interacting with local people brings about a unique insight into their tradition, beliefs, and daily life that cannot replicated through other means. Moreover, taking part in cultural activites such as traditional festival, trying traditional food, learning about the history give travelers the hands-on and memorable advantures. For instance, there are several clips, videos on Youtube which making a film about their trips to a countries such as Vietnam; nevertheless, watching a video about eating Vietnam traditional food cannot provide the factual sensation analogous to trying Pho which is a well-known and traditional food in Vietnam.

Apart from that, while books, films, and the internet provide rich sources of cultural information, they have inherent limitations. They may present information selectively or inaccurately, depending on the source or author’s perspective. Additionally, the information provided by books and movies might soon be out-of-date owing to the world is always changing, the culture is also updated; therefore, what was written for the long time can hardly ensure its accuracy. For illustration, fashion trends are updated annually so learners ought to travel to learn what local people wear on a daily basis. Hence, getting directly exposed to the culture is a decent decision to gain own experiences and assessments without relying on others’ subjective standpoints.

In conclusion, although books, movies and the internet offer substantial opportunites for learning about different cultures, travel remains indispensable for those seeking firsthand experiences and immersive learning opportunities that foster genuine cultural understanding and appreciation.