It is now possible to order almost any item over the Internet and have it delivered to one’s home. As a result, people are no longer patient or careful in their shopping habits. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Shopping virtually has now become tremendously popular among individuals around the world, and by virtue of this, consumers can purchase and receive many commodities sitting at their own locations. Due to this availability, people often become indifferent to going to malls as well as they show less cautiousness than before while making these purchases. I completely concur with the view that the majority of the people, nowadays, are indulging themselves, more than ever, in ordering products online thanks to the opportunities to justify prices and quality of the products they intend to buy and pay via an e-payment system much more convenient than the conventional one .

Online purchases, most importantly, allow modern customers to compare prices offered by various sellers, which, undoubtedly, facilitates them to make the right choice according to their preference, budget and quality of the desired items. Buying an item from a shop, to illustrate, requires a significant amount of time to learn about it, whereas more time is generally spent comparing it with other similar items of various brands and quantities available on the market. But if a customer gathers relevant information about any products by going through company websites beforehand, it may be easier to decide instantly whether to buy it or not. In fact, there are comparatively priced products with specifications on the e-commerce websites and even with automatic price comparison options, which sometimes tantalize a buyer to consider their budget. On the occasion of Eid Ul Fitr, one of my cousins, for example, visits three different Facebook pages who are offering similar kinds of dresses but with different materials, embroideries, fabrics with different price tags. Upon communicating with these three companies via Instagram, she comes to know about the prices they are offering- which certainly leads her to order an additional one of a different light colour reasonably along with the blue costume she plans to wear on the Eid Day. This case, obviously, indicates how access to product information before making choices manipulates consumer behaviours, sometimes even multiplying the sales.

Digital transactions, moreover, appears to be another factor that increases the purchases from a number of e-commerce sites. Torn, dirty, wet and counterfeit notes sometimes discourage consumers from purchasing from a physical store due to the sense of insecurity and skepticism about the authenticity of the notes returned as change. The e-payment process, however, relieves clients from all these types of anxieties and worries, which, eventually, accelerates the purchase rates among customers. A rent study conducted by the Harvard Researchers on “The Transactional Behaviour of Asians during the Festivals” fake notes and lack of changes led to numerous reported riots and violent incidents among the shopkeepers and their clients reducing or restricting the number of transactions. Some subjects who were young adults, in contrast, preferred digital wallets like Bkash, Rocket, Upay, Nagad, etc. to shop online from virtual stores, social media groups on Facebook, Twitter or Instagram by just clicking the order now buttons from the sponsored videos of the popular items without any second thought. The different results, therefore, emphasises on the fact that paying digitally offers more convenience, leading to add countless products to carts.

In conclusion, having authentic and sufficient details of intended items to buy anything via online order and easier cashless transactions methods for that has made customers much smarter about purchasing items from anywhere around the world.