It is often said, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." Do you think people should adapt to and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

People as guests abroad must know the host’s language, so they can deeply learn the cultures. I argue that because a chance to know other cultures will be widely open if the visitors know language as a way to transmit the knowledge in the host country. Thus, why this is a crucial thing, which I will elaborate on in the following paragraph.

To begin with, communication is a basic human’s act to transform understanding between several people in society. Realization of communication can emerge in language. For instead, all objects in this world are understood by language. Thus, to know the worldviews, cultures, traditions, in some societies, visitors should know their origin language.

Knowing that language is a trick to deeply understand other cultures,….. . This is important because through language people safeguard inordinate knowledge such as their histories, rituals, knowledge, which is shaped in language. For example, North Sulawesi as one of the provinces in Indonesia has a philosophy of life that is called Sitou Timou Tumou Tou. Its meaning is Human Lives to Live Other Human’s Live. It’s a local wisdom as a representative of human beings in this area. Thus, when visitors know the language, they can understand the meaning of this philosophy.

On the other hand, knowing the host’s language is beneficial for guests because it makes it easier for the visitor to explore the country. Moreover, they can build a strong communication with the native, likely giving an inquiry for them about their tribe or living place.

Finally (To sum up), the conclusion is knowing language is a way to easily understand a foreign’s culture. Even though knowing a language is quite difficult because it needs more time for visitors, it can be significantly impactful for the visitors.