It is often said, "When in Rome, do as the Romans do." Do you think people should adapt to and accept the culture of the country they visit? Do you think it is possible to learn a culture without learning the language?

As the saying goes, “when in Rome, do as the Romans do”. In my opinion, tourists need to accept each country’s cultures that they visit and be tolerant. Meanwhile, they can learn and explore another culture even without language learning.

In our age, we meet new cultures and explore a variety of unique traits about them. In general, despite having opposite traditions, outlooks, or languages, every person is expected to respect indigenous people and accept their cultures while traveling to different countries. I think it is because no one person wants to be disrespected or blamed in their own country. Take, for example, a person who came to a particular country and noticed that there are several controversial things to his own country, usually in terms of religion, social behavior, education, etc. In such cases, the only thing that tourists can do is to maintain tolerance and accept local people’s culture.

When it comes to languages, I believe that modern people can learn almost everything about a country’s culture without knowing a word in their language. This position can be backed as currently we have full access to the internet where we can search and find out new things about a nation’s customs and traditions, history, geography, and holidays, if we wish. A case in point would be that if a student wanted to explore a specific nation’s culture, they would inevitably resort to the internet or use a translator or artificial intelligence if they wanted to communicate with natives.

In conclusion, I feel that our age is full of opportunities in terms of exploring new cultures all over the world, even though people do not know local languages or dialects of those countries. In addition, people should not offend locals and simply accept their culture due to the aforementioned reasons.