It is sometimes said that people should encouraged to get married before they are 30, as this is the best both for the individual and for society. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that marriage should be in one’s twenties, while others argue that the age of thirty or above is the more appropriate age to start a family. In this essay, I will look at both sides and try to draw some conclusions.

Having spent a long period in education or career, people may consider marriage after thirty. Getting married at this age probably means that couples prefer to have one child, or possibly two, as breeding requires certain physical and mental conditions which, according to physicians, deteriorate after thirty. The children of these parents are deprived of the golden opportunity to interact with siblings. Having grown up, they face the huge burden of taking care of two elderly people, their parents, which poses limitations on their career choice or immigration plans.

A society which not suffer from the ageing of the population can benefit in many aspects. Having married before thirty, couples may prefer to have more than one child, which develops the future of the labour market as the development of a country that is heavily dependent on the active workforce whose labour contributes to progress. In addition, young parents have more energy and motivation to interact with their children desirably.

In brief, I have the view that the growing tendency to delay one’s marriage is unlikely to serve the interests of future generations. Governments should institute certain policies encouraging youngsters to marry.