It is the responsibility of schools to teach children good behavior. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people believe that schools have a duty to instill good behavior in students, in addition to their academic curriculum. Although parents play a crucial role in the development of their children, I believe that schools are effective environments for children to develop behavior.

On the one hand, the idea of parental education for young children is beneficial to some extent. This is because family is the first educational environment for every person. Children spend several years with their parents before they go to a formal education at school. This leads to children following their parents. For instance, children should speak politely, and listen attentively to follow their parents’ example. As a result, when parents are good role models, they will create important conditions for their children to become people with good personalities.

On the other hand, there are a variety of reasons why I also believe schools have to teach children good behavior. Firstly, school shapes children’s behavior. This is because schools often promote positive behavior by adding social and emotional learning programs into their curriculum. Through studying, students learn skills such as empathy, respect, and responsibility. As a result, children enhance interpersonal skills and promote a sense of responsibility towards others and they have many diverse perspectives. Secondly, building a culture of good behavior contributes to a healthy educational environment. This is because teachers and schools can directly affect the behavior of children. For example, many children learn good behavior from their previous teachers and achieve their goals with social skills and good moral values. Consequently, this creates a supportive learning environment and fosters positive development.

In conclusion, although the educational training of parents is crucial, I believe that the role of schools teaching children good behavior and moral values is more significant.