It is the responsiblity of schools to teach children how to behave well, while provding formal education. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

It is widely believed that only schools are responsible for teaching children how to behave well, along with providing basic education. Personally, I partially agree with this view, arguing that parents should also be held responsible for the good-manners of their youngsters.

In the first place, I am convinced that schools can be places where children can learn morality. There, teachers may instill a sense of interpersonal values in them in the course of lessons. These pupils can reshape their personalities when reading academic books – especially ones specialized in history. In this way, schools would nurture manners of children, making them well behaved. Take China as an ideal example: According to chinese schools rules, young students, before entering schools, are expected to take a bow while greeting others. This specific act symbolizes the how gradually and effectively teachers can lead one towards good behaviour.

However, I firmly believe that the role of parents in shaping teenagers’ behaviour is crucially important. Most of children’s time is spent within their families. It is essential that parents try to be classic examples that their youth can admire. Only if parents insill a sense of morality and ethics in their young, can they create well-rounded individuals over the long term, flourishing a society. Turkey can exemplify this claim: there, it is relatively rare to experience a child misbehaviour. The prime reason for this lies in parental guidance.

In conclusion, while children are able to get invaluable insights into morality, I firmly contend that it is mostly parents’ accountability to develop a sense of appropriate manners in their youth.