It was predicted that in the 21st century people will have more leisure time than never before because of the improvements of technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

The development of technology was expected to allow individuals in the 21st century to have more spare time than earlier. I do believe that the improvement of technology lets people spend more time on what they want because there is no need to go outside when they decide to buy products. Besides, a modern transport system allows citizens to spend less time on a commute.

Before the emergence of mobile applications for online shopping, people had to spend hours reaching supermarkets and finding products. In comparison, these days, instead of visiting malls, individuals can check and buy products they need by staying at their homes while spending little time. As a good illustration, several years ago, Ukrainians spent around 2 hours purchasing basic products and food every day. Now, the same process takes around 15 minutes, and people can do whatever they want while waiting for their orders.

Furthermore, the improvement in the transportation sector and the implementation of advanced systems that make transport faster provide users with quicker city journeys, which gives people opportunities to spend time efficiently. For instance, in Germany, the development of technology in public transport allows citizens to spend no more than 15 minutes to reach the city center. It is very important since often in big cities people spend hours getting stuck in traffic.

In conclusion, it was expected that individuals would have more free time in the 21st century than previously. I do agree that the development of technology gives people opportunities to have free time by using applications on the Internet and advanced transportation.