It was predicted that in the 21st century people will have more leisure time than never before because of the improvements of technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

One of the predicted benefits of technological progress in the 21st century was that people would have more free time. While there is no doubt that technology has facilitate dautomation of many tasks and productivity increase, it is also clear that this has not necessarily translated into more leisure time for individuals.

On the one hand, it is true that technology has revolutionized many aspects of our lives and has allowed us to complete tasks more quickly and easily. In agriculture, for example, the use of machines has dramatically increased efficiency, meaning that farmers can produce more food in less time than ever before. Similarly, the rise of the internet and digital communication tools and the improvements of transportation have enabled us to work from anywhere, reducing the amount of time we need to spend commuting to and from an office. These technological advancements have undoubtedly saved time and make us more productive.

On the other hand, the same technological advancements have also led to an increase in the demands on our time. The availability of digital devices and the internet means that we are always connected and always “on” regardless of locations and time zones. Employees are often required to be available outside of traditional working hours in sacrifice of their free time. Additionally, machines have been replacing human workers in almost every area, which has led to intense competition in the labour market. People thus have to spend more time learning and honing new skills to secure their jobs or they have to work extended hours doing part-time jobs to make ends meet.

In conclusion, while technology has undoubtedly given rise to greater efficiency and productivity in many areas of life, it has not led to more leisure time. Instead, the demands on our time have simply shifted and changed, and it is up to us as individuals to find ways to balance work and leisure time in this increasingly connected and competitive world.