It was predicted that in the 21st century people will have more leisure time than never before because of the improvements of technology. To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Past scientists had envisioned the 21st century populations to possess more leisure time as technological advancements offer further assistance both at work and at home. So far, this prediction has come true, but only for selected groups of people.

Indeed, the advent of automated systems and modern infrastructures have freed up time previously occupied for menial tasks and transportation. Modern people are no longer required to slave away, spending hours on household chores, since there are now specialised machines carrying out specific tasks, thus affording them additional relaxation time. However, this privilege is not enjoyed by everyone, considering there are remote or poverty-stricken regions where such equipment is a luxury. In these places, people continue to rely on manual labour for almost all daily activities, hence depriving them of free time for themselves.

Even in the more developed areas, most people would squander any extra time they have on work, despite having access to more advanced facilities. This is partly due to the rise of artificial intelligence triggering mass lay-offs, leaving the labour force plagued by fears of redundancy. In fact, it is not uncommon for working class people juggling multiple jobs or having a 10-hour work day just to make ends meet. Additionally, automation has lowered wages for low-skill jobs, so if people aim for better career prospects, they will be tempted to spend time on pursuing higher qualifications in order to stand out in the competitive job market.

To conclude, modern-day technologies have effectively made people’s lives even more hectic, although initially they have been designed to relieve people of daily toil. This is why most people are now leading increasingly occupied lives, and the more leisurely lifestyle is reserved for the more affluent individuals who have little financial concern.