It was predicted that with the development of technology, people would have more free time in the 21st century. To what extent do you think the prediction has come true?

The development of technology is predicted to yield much more spare time for people in the 21st century. While I acknowledge the benefits of technological appliances, the extent that this prediction has come true is unconvinced.

Regarding the advantages generated by developing technology, one of the typical circumstances is at home where some modern appliances such as vacuum cleaners or automated washing machines are installed so that people can spend less time doing household chores and homemakers can reduce stresses when coping with a vast array of “no-name” tasks like mopping the floors, washing clothes and vice versa. As a result, members of family can join different recreational activities or taking up hobbies. In terms of the workforce, high-tech can provide factories with automated assembly lines with the aim of increasing productivity and being less labor-intensive so that workers have more time to perform their task, compared to the past when they used to work without the aid of these hi-tech appliances. In addition, those things are programmed to generate a wide range of same products without making mistakes, compared to manual labors who have higher rate to yield defective ones.

However, we should put some drawbacks of high technology into consideration due to its effects on human in distributing their spare time. Take using appliances at home as a prime example, despite their conveniences, we have to allocate our time on familiarizing how to run them and it seems to become a more challenging task to who had less opportunities to interfere with these appliances throughout the first period of lives. Another case relating to computerized systems implemented high-tech at work, because of this development, working culture can change into far-distance working so people have to perform their tasks constantly, regardless where they are.

In conclusion, it is undeniable that developing technology can enhance our quality of life by rewarding us more free time but this phenomenon has somewhat true due to its shadows and how each individual controls these appliances.