Large companies often use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is common to see big companies sponsor sports events to promote their products. This is believed to negatively affect the world of sport, but in my opinion, this belief is deeply flawed.

Granted, one might argue that the sponsoring of sporting competitions adversely affects sports. This is probably based on the assumption that the value of sports could inevitably be lost if people started to think that the sports they watch were nothing short of a marketing tool for corporations. The waning value of sports is often said to lead to negative opinions about sports, and consequently fewer loyal fans, which would prevent the development of sports.

However, this line of reasoning is not sound. With sports competitions having generous sponsors, the prizes for winners become a huge incentive for players to practice more diligently. This often results in more skilled players, who can achieve more seemingly impossible feats and bring about more intensely competitive matches for fans to enjoy. The enormous financial backing from large companies also allows sports organizations to hold bigger competitions and satisfy more audiences, further contributing to the value and growth of sports.

A final contentious point regarding companies sponsoring sports events pertains to the promotions for some arguably harmful products like sugary drinks. However, countless healthy products like protein bars and protective equipment are often promoted during those events too. Sports fans, thus, are more likely to benefit from a wide range of products advertised in sporting events.

In conclusion, the fact that large firms often use sporting events to promote their offerings benefits sports fans, sports players and the world of sport as a whole. Therefore, I strongly feel that this development is extremely positive, rather than negative as suggested.