Large companies often use sports events to promote their products. Some people think this has a negative impact on sports. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Sports are gaining more audiences recently and big corporations are taking advantage of these competitions to advertise their merchandise. While I understand why many believe that doing so only leaves a bad impression on viewers, I totally disagree with this opinion because of the potential that advertisement would bring.

On the one hand, promotion is widely agreed to only be a nuisance for people as it may spread misinformation or scam, as well as annoy them. Individuals with ill-intent will try to sell a fake duplicate of a big company’s product at a higher price than normal, therefore earning some dirty money. For instance: Youtube is an online video platform that has billions of viewers, and many of them watch live sports through it daily. Because of the significant amount of content that Youtube contains, false advertisements can not be checked thoroughly, and people are being scammed for believing them. Additionally, with the high frequency of these ads, people often get triggered, and their entire experience may be ruined.

On the other hand, I strongly suggest that sponsorship is one of the best ways for a competition to reach out to its target audience, especially for people who know very little about that kind of entertainment. Esports, for example, is becoming well-known to young people in recent years and is predicted to be a huge industry in the future. Its’ success is achieved thanks to collaborations with famous energy drink brands like Monster and renowned gear shops like Razer. With increasing popularity, these events will have more funds to develop and improve quality, thus satisfying their viewers’ experience. Promoters will also benefit from this partnership, and can produce various kinds of goods for their customers, therefore gaining more profits.

In conclusion, while sponsorship can be a bad factor in term of influence, I argued that the advantages it brings can outweigh the downsides and through these advertisements, the world economy can also be improved.