Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, and if so, how?

In recent times, teaching and learning English in schools is considered more valuable, whereas they show less importance to local languages. In my opinion, I believe that according to the modern trends, learning English is crucial. However, the maintenance of local languages as an identity is essential. There are various ways to save local languages, which will be discussed further.

Because of several factors like tourism and international talks, the domination of English as an international language has led everyone to learn English as a basic necessity. Because of this, students mus tlearn English since childhood, as it is essential for higher education and job opportunities in many countries. This will bring more benefits to students in their professional growth, even they can expand their business internationally. For instance, all the major sectors like research papers, academic curriculums, international talks, and trades, English is considerred as primary language. Therefore, it has become very important in everyone’s life to learn English.

Despite above arguments, I also believe that preservation of local languages is required, even though English is considered as a global language. This is because once the local language gets extinct and disappeared, all the cultures, values, traditions, emotions, and whole cultural diversity gets vanished. Eventually it leads to loss of cultural uniqueness and monocultural environment.

In order to mitigate this issue, there are various ways to give equal importance to local language. The most convincing of all is to take essential steps by government and society. It is the government who can impose strict rules to study local language as compulsory subject in the curriculum. Moreover, it is vital for parents to teach local language and give importance of regional language while communicating, rather than influencing children to use English as their only language to become proficient in the future. Ultimately, it will develop an interest among society to learn and speak with courage and the cultural aspects are passed over generations, leading to survival of the language.

In conclusion, while learning English is essential for global opportunity, survival of local language should not be costed for it. Yes, it is essential for maintaining cultural uniqueness through education of local language as a compulsory subject and encouraging children to use their native language by putting global language aside, it can lead to local voices be heard for generations.