Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English?

English is a global medium of communication and is considered to be more significant than regional or national languages therefore, these languages are on the verge of extinction. In my perspective, a balanced approach, incorporating both English and national dialects, is indispensable for holistic education and cultural preservation.

It is extremely important to facilitate basic understanding of English language to everyone because more than half of the world’s population uses English to communicate. When around 68% individuals speak in one common language there is no reason to invalidate the significance of such single mostly widely used network of expression. This standard medium promotes cross country communication, travel, and trade. For instance, Research from the Economy Times reveals improvement in individual and country wide trade outcome along with significant improvement in tourist inflow boosting overall economy of the country to 70% with in a decade of inculcating English language for everyone in the curriculum. Thus, it is imperative for individuals to acquire proficiency in English to thrive in an increasingly interconnected world.

However, the promotion of English should not come at the expense of national languages they must be preserved to maintain the unique culture and customs of that region. For example, a case study done in Germany signifies amalgamating regional languages in curriculum increases the rate of proficient German speakers by 40% hence improving traditional outlook of the country. In case of more than one local language a priority is given to most spoken language in the region or choice can be given to students. Therefore, by safeguarding national languages, we safeguard our cultural diversity and heritage.

To conclude, A comprehensive education system that encompasses both English and national dialects ensures thriving future of the country while also safeguarding cultural heritage.