Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English?

In today’s society, many people view learning English to be of a higher value than learning their local language. This viewpoint is especially found amongst people in developing countries. Despite this popular opinion, it can be seen that prioritizing one over the other can have dire consequences to an individual, and his or her community.

Language makes up the essence of society. For it is language that preserves culture. In fact language is simultaneously a result of and a creator of culture. When it comes to the question of whether or not it is important to preserve a community’s local, one must take into consideration also the question of preserving the local culture. Local culture cannot survive without local language.

Since, language is tied to culture, it is ultimately tied to national identity. A nation is its people, their culture, their values and their language. Without language the common link binding all citizens of a nation vanishes. Adopting a new language, at the expense of one’s own, means to abandon one’s culture and national identity. With a change in language, a change in culture is inevitable.

Despite all these consequences, one cannot deny the importance of English language education among third world nations. English is a global language, a language spoken by many. It can serve as medium for communication between people from various parts of the globe. In addition, technological education is ultimately tied to English. In most countries English is a requirement for jobs requiring technological skills. In most third world countries, an education in English language translates to a better opportunity at life.

To conclude, prioritizing learning English over learning one’s own mother tongue can have detrimental consequences to his or her nation and community. However, English education serves a a key to opportunity in many underdeveloped countries, thus making this situation very delicate and, whatever its solution maybe, very complicated.