Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages, and if so, how?

It is argued that since English teachings have became crucial in today’s society, local languages could be affected with the risk of disappearing. This essay will discuss the importance of speaking English in the global communication, while stating the need of preserving local languages by teaching them in schools.

First of all, it is extremely important that everyone is thaught English because of its role as the most widely spoken idiom. People in today’s society should be able to communicate evrywhere they go as this is one of the main points for ensuring global cooperation and unity. In addition to that, English can become quite handy in mostly of the jobs and more importantly in those related to commercial activities. For instance, a 2021 urvey conducted by the Italian government, showed that the majority of Italians only speak Italian and this results in having some issues when it comes to communicate with foreign investors and clients.

On the other hand, I believe that local languages should be preserved and thaught in school as part of our culture and tradition. In fact, it is really difficult to fully understand our cultural background and our tradition without knowing the language spoken by locals. This fact was quite clear to me, when I went to Kenya last February. For the majority of the time, I was always communicating in English, however, when I begun to learn Swahili, tons of their everyday routines and way-of-being suddenly made sense and I noticed that some expression which were deeply rooted in the language, actually came from their everyday life.

In conclusion, I think that English ought to be a compulsory subject in every school, but, at the same time, it should not be thaught at the expenses of local languages which have to be learnt as well.