Living in big cities causes health problems for residents. What are the reasons behind this? Is this a positive or negative trend?

In this modern society, choosing to live in a metropolitan area puts one at risk of a variety of problems with regard to both physical and psychological health. There are, indeed, lots of factors causing this negative trend, and in this essay, I would like to evaluate the reasons behind this trend and also explain the effects concerning people’s health.

At first, pollutants around big cities are contributors to decreasing health among citizens. The trend of escaping small towns for job opportunities and workplaces has created a massive population for chiefly every city in the world, which leads to a polluted and harmful atmosphere for many citizens. Take my city, Hanoi, as an example: Not only is the air polluted, but also the honking sounds of vehicles, smelly rivers and canals, and the flashing lights of thousands of stores around the city have contributed to the overall pollution. It is without a doubt that water and air pollution may cause severe and direct harm to people’s physical health; however, when people are often exposed to the light and sound pollution that are mostly seen in big cities, it is also their mentality that is gradually damaged over time.

Residents in big cities, besides objective reason, are supposed to face these health risks because of intensive stress in order to maintain a normal life. Overcrowded cities provide fruitful positions for talented applicants, but it is never enough to keep the rate of unemployed people low. Many people in big cities have suffered from inflation, which is the cause behind the dramatically increasing of foods, ingredients, and living expenses. These issues, while affecting directly the lives of many citizens, especially those at a low level, may eventually place a burden on people, which creates stress and many potential mental issues in the long run.

It is obvious that this trend affects everyone negatively. Facing multiple risks at once might cause a reduced quality of life. Although being known for facilitating better living conditions through stores and shops providing everything needed, metropolises are causing extreme stress for residents. When enduring severe burdens continuously, the ability to join regular daily activities may be limited, causing major hurdles in enjoying life. Moreover, these burdens cause a significant decrease in study and work productivity. Being constantly unwell means that one might face challenges with regard to concentration and attention , resulting in lower performances and missed career and academic opportunities.

In conclusion, the health problems faced by city residents stem primarily from air pollution and stress while maintaining a good living condition. This trend is deeply negative as it diminishes people’s quality of life and undermines their ability to perform effectively in professional and educational settings.