Loneliness is an increasing problem in many societies, especially among the elderly. Why is this? How can it be remedied?

Human beings need basic social interaction for their survival on the contrary the fast-pacing world has forced students to pursue their careers at a relatively younger age causing them to leave their parents alone. This has resulted in an aloof nature among the older generation that find it harder to battle this loneliness out. However, with combined efforts from both the community and from individuals, a conducive environment can be created for the elderly to prevent them from feeling this way.

Today, a plethora of the younger generation are seen chasing financial security at an early age to maintain the quality of life and to match the standards set by other people in the same age bracket. Subsequently, children move out, giving more importance to their work rather than to their parents or grandparents who are left with lesser people to socialize with. For instance, infrequent visits to older people lead to a feeling of despair and neglect that can negatively affect their health too.

To curb the feeling of loneliness, active efforts can be taken by the community as a whole who can organize small events to keep the older generation involved in activities that can help boost their morale. Similarly, every individual must make it their prime concern to set aside time specifically for their elders and to provide them with the love and attention they deserve. This would greatly affect their lifestyle and enhance their mental health.

To conclude, while many reasons can influence the emotion of loneliness, it can also be kept in check if the minds of the elderly are kept occupied, and they aren’t left alone with their own thoughts.