Loneliness is an increasing problem in many societies, especially among the elderly. Why is this? How can it be remedied?

It is often considered that one of the most serious issues in this ever-changing society relates to loneliness among the elderly. There are not only several reasons why old people are alone but there are many possible ways to be taken to solve this issue. The principal causes will be discussed first in this essay followed by an analysis of the solutions.

There are a couple of different factors that have led to the elderly sadness. One of the major causes is the death of their loved people. The death of their friends, who have a lot of happy memories with them, or their family members, who they loved and lived with them a whole life. This makes them feel alone when they get older and older because people around their age are dead one by one. In addition, their family members, especially their children, are having a busy life, This leads to the problem that they have less time with each other and older individuals are left behind. Older people are often face isolation and lack of care because their children have to go to work, go to school to study, to make money and too busy to take care of their parents or grandparents.

Nevertheless, potential measures can be carried out to respond to the situation. First and foremost, aged people need to have more time with their family and friends. This can have a positive impact on the mood of the senior citizens, and strengthen their bonds with their family members or friends. Moreover, the government should organize social events, such as catering to the needs of the elderly. The government can hold some social activities such as religious activities, musical programs, etc.

In conclusion, loneliness among the elderly is a serious issue because of obvious reasons like their loved people’s death and the isolation from their family, various steps like having precious time with family and friends or care from the government and society can be taken to address this problem. Therefore, I recommend that we care more for old people because it can help to improve the social quality.