Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

In today’s fast-paced world, technology has been increasing rapidly. Many people believe that maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology performs the same functions. There are several advantages of using computers instead of books. I strongly agree with this stance, I will discuss this in the following paragraphs.

Firstly, many people are shifting from public libraries to digital devices because of its flexibility. People can search information about study, business, and articles with just a few clicks. They do not have to spend a lot of time to find correct book from the library shelves. Secondly, computers offer a wide range of information about different types of topics while, sometimes people may fail to get enough knowledge by books. For instance, pupils can get study materials by using search bar in the computers, which can save a lot of important time during exams.

Another important advantage is cost-effectiveness. Maintaining public libraries require money for building maintenance, staff salaries, and purchasing new books. In contrast, online platforms like Byju’s, and Udemy offers free access for the people’s daily use. Furthermore, libraries have fixed time duration while, digital sites are available for 24/7. For instance, many professionals work at night can easily access e-books or PDFs whereas library would be closed.

In conclusion, computers offer a wide range of accuracy, with easy access, lower cost, and round-the-clock availability, technology can replace many functions of public libraries. Therefore, spending money to maintain public libraries may not be useful in the modern digital era.