Maintaining public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their functions. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that maintaining public libraries is no longer necessary because the development of computer technology has allowed a to access the information on the internet more efficiently. Although there are many advantages over technological advancements, I don’t completely agree with this view.

There are two main advantages of online information sources. Firstly, a substantial number of data can be saved on the internet that is greater than any physical library. This allows researchers to easily get the information they need without having to travel to a local library. Furthermore, people can look for information on the internet whenever they want to find without caring the close time for of the public libraries. This is therefore particularly beneficial for people who has got hectic jobs and cannot visit these places during their operating time.

However, the preservation of public libraries is still necessary because of some unreliable resources and people . The availability of various kinds of resources are spreading online platforms and lead to poisonous and harmful reading for young children, who are not known for the trustworthy websites and e-books. Whereas, the local libraries provide accurate and reliable information and books being carefully categorized by library staff members. Additionally, libraries are still on the most popular means of accessing information among senior citizens, regardless of availability of internet information. In these days, most elderly people are technophobes and therefore physical libraries are their preferred option.

In conclusion, despite the benefits of computer technology in providing information, in my opinion, maintenance of physical libraries are still needed rather than viewing them as a waste of money.