Maintaining the public libraries is a waste of money since computer technology can replace their function. Do you agree or disagree?

Some people opine that people can do away with traditional libraries because technology has given us the facility of virtual or online libraries. Although technology has reduced our need to go to libraries, traditional libraries can never become redundant, and maintaining them is not a waste of money.

Firstly, when you use computer technology you cannot have enough concentration, you will get distracted easily. Computers will have many social media apps such as Facebook, instagram, or video games that take away our attention from reading books. This is even more serious among young readers.

Secondly, in order to access to the digital library, we will need an Internet connection. Although the Internet is very popular, not everyone knows how to or has access to the World Wide Web. For example, elderly people, children, and people who live in poverty are likely technologically illiterate. So public libraries are the better options for them.

Finally, reading print books helps absorb knowledge better. An investigation showed that readers who choose print books over e-books will absorb knowledge faster and more effectively.

In conclusion, although maintaining public libraries will take a considerable budget, reinforced concentration, easy access and better comprehension of knowledge are the elements that make public libraries irreplaceable.