Many animals are facing extinction in the wild. Why is this happening? What can be done to protect them?

Wild Animals around the world are in danger of extinction. Inorder to restore the ecosystem researchers are in the move to uncover the source of this problem and unravel solutions.

Primarily, the high rates of extinction is caused by the loss of habitat. As the desire for human to invest more lands for agriculture, housing or factories continue to increase, more habitats are loss due to deforestation and pollution. The loss of habitats negatively influences biodiversity which includes the loss of genetic diversity, species richness and gene pool. Genetic diversity is important as it allows animals to keep evolving, producing antibodies to new diseases and producing features to adapt to different climate. If genetic diversity decreases, animals are not able to evolve and adapt to new habitats and climates as genes are loss due to the decrease in species population. The smaller the population the faster it looses genetic diversity and inbreeding. This alone leads to the now extinction of species in the wild.

Over the year, researchers have been implementing methods and spread awareness inorder to restore the species population. One of the method is called captive breeding where wild species are able to reproduce in a safe environment. This is believed to maintain genetic diversity and contributes to scientific researches. However this alone cannot prevent the species from being endangered. Cloning and gene editing of the individuals can also be implemented to increase their population and prevent inbreeding of the species which allows harmful genes to be expressed. If the population continues to increase throughout the year, the species will be safe from extinction

To conclude, many animals in the wild are endangered. This is due to the loss of their habitat which reduces their biodiversity and leads to the decreases in species. Scientists are in the action to restore their species by captive breeding, cloning and gene editing.