Many aspects of the way people dress today are influenced by global fashion trends. How has global fashion become such a strong influence on people's lives?

In recent years, global fashion trends have influenced how people dress worldwide. There are several questions surrounding this development, particularly its reasons behind and whether it is an advantageous or disadvantageous development. This essay will address both questions by examining why it has happened and my argument in favour of its negativity.

To begin with, there are many reasons why people follow global fashion trends. The first and foremost reason is social media influence. Simply put, as almost every grown citizen uses social media, including Facebook, Instagram, TikTok and other popular platforms, they can easily see what popular individuals like football, cricket, and cinema celebrities wear in different programmes. As a result, people’s minds are influenced to follow the same fashion style which their favourite celebrities put on every day. For example, Ronaldo, the most goal contributing in football history, has the highest Instagram followers with more than 600 million. Therefore, these 600 million are indirectly prone to have as the same fashion sense as Ronaldo. Another contributing factor is that watching movies has a significant impact on this trend. For instance, when people watch movies, they see the actors and actresses frequently change the dress, and these types of dress are generally of a new design. Consequently, audiences feel strongly about buying the same outfits. Given the facts, social media and movies impose fashion influence on both individuals and society.

In terms of the question of whether it is a positive or negative development, I side that it is definitely a negative development, because of the affordability to buy new clothes. To explain it, the financial condition of every single person is not the same, and some people even live below the poverty level. Therefore, when they see their friends, near and dear ones, and neighbours purchase and put on the new fashion clothes, they also show a strong desire to buy, though they are unable to buy them. So, considering the financial situation, global fashion trends negatively affect a certain type of citizen.

Overall, though people are tempted to buy new fashion trends, influenced by seeing popular faces through social media and cinemas, not everyone can afford to buy because of their income level, as most of them live below the poverty line.