Many believe that smoking is the biggest health problem among teenagers. Discuss the main problems caused by smoking and suggest possible solutions to reduce this issue.

Many believe that smoking is largest health issue that teens are facing. The main problem that this causes is lung cancer, and the most viable solution is educating people through public campaigns.

One of the main problems caused by smoking is its severe health effects. Teenagers who smoke are at a higher risk of developing lung cancer later in life. For instance, my cousin, who began smoking in high school, recently passed away from lung cancer. He started smoking at a young age and died in his late forties because of it. Similarly, a recent study in Canada found that people who started smoking at an early age had a higher chance of developing lung cancer later in life compared to those who started smoking as adults.

To tackle this problem the government should launch a publicity campaign in the media and in schools to educate people about the dangers of smoking. This is because many people are still unaware of the serious health risks associated with smoking. An awareness campaign could shed some light on this difficult situation and allow people to be more honest and open about it. For example, a similar initiative in Japan resulted in a 41% decrease in smoking among young males over the last decade, demonstrating the effectiveness of such campaigns.

In conclusion, smoking is a major issue that can result in people getting lung cancer, however it can be addressed by educating people about the dangers. Therefore, governments should take effective actions by supporting educational programs and public campaigns. If these measures are implemented successfully, the situation is expected to improve significantly in the long term.