Many cities are replacing cars with bicycles. What are the reasons for this ? Which do you think is better

With urban density and well-maintained road infrastructure, individuals are inclined to prioritise cars over bicycles. There is, however, a countertendency to this trend: in some urban landscapes contoured by eco-conscious lifestyles and a wave of traffic congestion, local residents tend to shift to bicycles rather than cars. This, in turn, begs the question of whether these changes are for the better or for the worse. My stance is that the latter trend delivers more tangible benefits to society, as people progressively put an end to car-dependent culture.

The rationale behind switching to cars and replacing bicycles have long been underestimated. Given that urban sprawl spiraled out of control and paved over habitats, geographical mismatch has become a prevailing issue in modern times. Far from advancing metropolitan cities and propelling human civilisation forward, outward urban expansion created an environment conducive to car driving as opposed to cycling. This is because city dwellers encounter vast distances between their neighborhoods and workplaces, which encourages them to steer cars on a regular basis. For context, when riding a bicycle, people are expected to leave their homes earlier, reschedule their routines, and, as climatic volatility persists, they also might be trapped in unforgiving geographies or messy cycling paths. However, by driving cars, individuals steer clear of these problems and reach desired destinations in a timely fashion. Another, no less important reason, for this bicycle-and-car-replacement is climate apathy. That is, provided that people are exposed excessively to eco-friendly commuting habits, greenwashing, and green backlash, they cultivate environmental negligence and utilize fuel-based vehicles. In light of these factors above, it comes as no surprise that urbanites supplant bicycles by cars on all fronts.

Despite this, in some other urban areas, a contrasting predisposition among locals is evident. In an era characterised by environmental destruction, climate breakdown, and habitat fragmentation, people attempt to give their lives a green makeover and replace heavy vehicles with cycling. Since cars produce emissions and leave a long environmental shadow for the posterity, the vast majority of city residents place bicycles front and centre. As people inhabit a world with an extraordinary intimacy with time scarcity, participating in sustainability campaigns or eco-friendly movements remains an elusive destination. For this reason, people often offset environmental burdens and compensate for carbon footprints by abandoning cars. Equally occupying is the fact that even well-designed and well-planned urban areas are riddled with traffic jams and bumper-to-bumper streets. With traffic congestion taking up half of people’s waking time, not only does riding a bike enable cyclists to breath fresh air and embrace a slower cadence of living, but it also reduces daily stress and headaches associated with overpacked roads.

On a personal note, I steadfastly support the view that replacing cars with bicycles is a desirable course of action. In other words, engine-based vehicles have long been a punching bag for climate change and environmental destruction, which is why bicycles are hailed as benign alternatives and cleaner forms of transportation. Furthermore, because cycling remains inherently communal and allows people from different cultural strata organize collective cycling evenings rather than drive a car in a vacuum, individuals find a sense of belonging and strengthen their bonds. Viewed collectively, in the long march towards environmental protection and harmony, a gradual shift towards bicycles reaps visible rewards.

In summary, the replacement of bicycles by cars lies at the nexus of urban sprawl, climate apathy, and convenience. In the rest of urban areas, an opposing tendency toward this trend is the shift to cycling, the reasons of which are sustainable lifestyles and traffic congestions. From my perspective, the latter trend deserves a greater attention, as it helps counteract unrestricted car usage, reduce carbon footprint, and encourage people to build relationships