Many cities suffer from traffic jams. What problems does it cause? What are the solutions for it?

In the present world, with the advancement of technology and development of user friendly vehicles, most of the people in the city area started to travel with private vehicles which cause the high traffic congestion especially in city areas. This essay will discuss about the difficulty resulted from this cause and its remedial measures.

Firstly, one of the prime problem due to traffic blockage is unwanted time elapsing for the road users. Due to the stopped flow of vehicles in the different road intersection people using the vehicles for travelling might face delay for specific destinations. For example, some year ago a news was heard about the traffic jams in a renowned Chinese city last for almost their days cause very long wait for the travelers to go to their destinations. Also, big managerial problems can be encountered due to the large traffic congestion in a city. Many traffic management personals are required in the city areas rather than villages because of the management constraints due to traffic jams.

However, using the alternative route during the peak hour and also, adopting alternative means of transportations like public vehicles can significantly reduce the traffic congestion. In Kathmandu city of Nepal there are the various supplementary routes which were in use in recent years for reducing traffic congestions like river side corridors. Also some of the developed countries in world use effective and free public transportation which encourage people to use public vehicles for transportation rather than private automobiles. Again, Transportation management department can use effective traffic rules and regulations like traffic signs & signals to avoid large managerial issues and uniform flow of vehicles. Lastly, the related authority can also increase the road width in available areas and can also design more efficient road intersections.

In conclusion, nowadays many developed cities faced the issues like delaying and managerial limitations because of traffic congestions but can be prevented by effective transportation planning and management in the city.