Many countries are experiencing an aging population. What impact will this demographic shift have on society? What measures can governments and individuals take to address the challenges and opportunities presented by an aging population?

It is true that a birth rate is getting lower and lower recent years due to several socioeconomic factors. While its causes come from a higher cost of living compared to the past, a longer career pursuit, and child-free families, governmental support, in the form of benefits or reduced workload, could balance disproportionate labor participation. This essay will elaborate ideas about potential underlying reasons and ways of addressing this ongoing issue.

One major reason is an ever-increasing cost of living compared to the past. This can lead to a more extended career pursuit among the youth, leaving no time for starting a relationship and finally marry. If left unaddressed, it escalates into more and more child-free families, leading to an inequality between the share of the young adults and seniors. For example, in Korea, it is popular to stay rather unattached until ensuring a more stable life. Therefore, the higher the living cost is, the lower the number of young people is in the population.

The encouragement of families to give a birth to many children is one of the pragmatic solutions. The government should allocate supportive rewards, such as monetary help or discounts on several types of transportation. For example, in Kazakhstan, the state supports large families with social benefits, assigning them a special social status. Families in this category receive school equipments and Christmas presents. Thus, an assistance for large families could address the issue of aging population to some extent.

To conclude, only when does the government intervene and take strong measures to handle this hurdle, the balance between age ranges will stabilize.