Many countries are experiencing an aging population. Some suggest raising the retirement age as a solution. Others believe this unfairly burdens older workers. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Opinions are didived on whether prolong the working age so as to deal with the increase of old age or whether the next generations have lower chance of getting jobs and put pressure on elderly people.

While i may acknowledge the logic behind the former view, i still strongly in favour of the later. Those who think that it is neccessary to widen working age may have a logical argument. They may well argue that this allow old people to help their families with finaical problems. For example, Japanese which country has been facing with the decrease of children for over decades. As the result, the government has imposed the rule that allowed people to work until 70 years old, which enable the families to gain more money. However, this won’t be effective in a long-term as long as the birth rate still decrease, this will cause lack of young workers to maintain the economy.

Nevertheless, i still firmly believe that young age will get fewer job opportunities and old workers are put under pressure for several reasons. Chief among these is that young generations have less experience on particularly job than one has been doing it for all their lifetime. As a consquence, the job interviewers are likely to choose skillful workers rather than a student has just been graduated. The second reason is that old people usually get some chronic diseases that make their life expectancy lower. Therefore, these old workers need to rest and spend their time with family, not bearing their health for hard-working jobs.

In conclusion, it is understandable why some may argue that raising the retirement age will be a solution against aging population. However, i would take the view that widen the working age only put more unneccessary pressure on both young and old people.